Order Tray | Contact Us | Home | SIG Lists

[aprssig] APRS balloon launches during Dayton Hamvention

Mark Conner mconner at aer.com
Tue May 13 17:59:40 UTC 2008


There are at least two balloon flights scheduled for Saturday morning (May 17th).

Nebraska Stratospheric Amateur Radio (NSTAR) will fly from the vicinity of Omaha, NE with a scheduled launch time of 0800 CDT (1300 UTC).  N9XTN-11 will be on 144.36 MHz and N9XTN-12 on 144.39 MHz.  Both frequencies will be locally I-gated.  Depending on the wind forecast, the launch time may be pushed earlier by up to an hour to avoid increasing winds that morning.

The Saskatoon ARC will also have a flight Saturday, scheduled for 0900 MDT (1500 UTC) from Davidson, Saskatchewan.  Look for callsigns VE5AA-11 and VE5AA-12.  

Near Space Sciences (NSS) is also planning a flight from near Baraboo, WI for Saturday morning.  Exact callsign details are yet to be published.  We are hoping to synchronize launch times between NSS and NSTAR for a possible Earth-Balloon-Balloon-Earth (EBBE) voice experiment.  

A comprehensive list of recent and upcoming balloon flights, as well as links to most if not all balloon groups with a web presence, is at http://www.arhab.org .  This page is generally updated at least daily if new information is available.

73 de Mark N9XTN




More information about the aprssig mailing list