Order Tray | Contact Us | Home | SIG Lists

[aprssig] OT WARNING: Fake Linked-In Invites Being Sent Through APRSsig List

Stephen H. Smith wa8lmf2 at aol.com
Thu Jan 5 01:44:33 UTC 2012

On 1/4/2012 7:40 PM, Rick Green wrote:
> On Wed, 4 Jan 2012, Steve Noskowicz wrote:
>   Yes, I know those techniques.  The links in the message actually pointed to 
> linkedin itself, not to a look-alike phishing site.
>  I guess I should have phrased my question differently, like "WHat was it 
> about this message that told you it wasn't from Linkedin?"

This is what is strange, and has apparently raised phishing to a whole new 
level.  It WAS from the real Linked-In site.

The link in the invite sent me to a clone of my own account on the real 
Linked-In website.    It was weird seeing myself (i.e. my real account) listed 
as "someone you might be interested in".....  (Apparently based on common work 
background and interests.)  Of course, I had to log in to discover this.

When I noticed something was weird, I immediately logged out, closed the 
browser, ran a comprehensive system scan for cookies and applets, etc and then 
rebooted.  I then logged into my real account directly from the FireFox browser 
and immediately changed my password.



Stephen H. Smith    wa8lmf (at) aol.com
Skype:        WA8LMF
Home Page:          http://wa8lmf.net

*****  NEW   Precision Mapping 9 For UIview Released! *****

  Vista & Win7 Install Issues for UI-View and Precision Mapping

30-meter HF APRS over PSK63

"APRS 101"  Explanation of APRS Path Selection & Digipeating

More information about the aprssig mailing list